Made For Me

Anchors and Arrows Tops With Simplicity K1467

I received the Simplicity K1467 free with Sew magazine and I absolutely loved the top (option A), so I decided to make it for myself. The pattern says to use light weight to medium weight woven fabrics such as linen, crepe or silky types, georgette, chanteuse and crepe de chine.

image

This required a shopping trip. So my friend and I went down to London purely to buy fabric. I found a gorgeous pale green/teal georgette from one of the shops on Goldhawk Road and (although I wasn’t looking for patterned fabric), I bought a metre of a 100% Japanese cotton with anchors on it from the Cloth House, on Berwick Street.

image

I absolutely love this fabric. It’s so light, perfect for summer weather (when it graces us with its presence of course).

I loved it so much that I made a second one from a light weight cotton called Adventure springs, part of the Hello Bear collection and is designed by Bonnie Christine for art gallery fabrics. I bought it from M is for Make though I’d originally seen it in a shop in London and didn’t buy it – big mistake!! Since then, I’d been looking for it for ages but a fellow tweeter found it online for me. Note to self – if you see fabric you like, buy it straight away to save you months of searching or possibly missing out all together!

image

image

I must say, I did enjoy making both of these tops. It’s a straight forward sew that can be done in an afternoon if you wanted a quick sew. There’s also plenty of ways to make the top completely unique – contrasting buttons or even contrasting yoke for example. All I need to do now is make one out of the georgette that I bought for this pattern and who knows, maybe there’ll be more in the pipeline soon…

2 thoughts on “Anchors and Arrows Tops With Simplicity K1467”

Leave a Reply

