Other

2015 Round Up

Happy New Year to you all. I thought I’d do a round up of 2015, I originally started with writing everything I’d done per month but thought that was a bit much. Saying that, it was fun looking back at the pictures and remembering key moments.

I haven’t made a new year’s resolution for years but I decided that my resolution for 2015 was to stop saying I’ll do things and then never get to them but to actually do the things I say I’m going to do. I’ve somewhat done that – I’ve tried sushi with my friend, Rachel; I went fabric shopping in London with my friend, Lucy; I made a belt that had been planned when I was at college and I altered an old uni project to fit me, to name a few things.

Greatest moments in 2015 are:
My holiday to Rome with my boyfriend, for my birthday. It was amazing and I got to fulfil a childhood dream to see Pompei and an added bonus was to climb Mt Vesuvius. Here’s a pic of me on the great mountain, wearing my first handmade pair of shorts.

image

Feeding goats milk to tigers with my boyfriend. I’d originally bought the experience for my boyfriend in 2014 but he didn’t get around to booking it until September 2015!

image

Sewing triumphs:
Three more delphine skirts
Two of the three jersey vest tops
Two tops made with Simplicity K1467

image

Sewing trials that I overcame:
The mathilde blouse
Altering my uni project, the little black dress to fit me
My new year’s eve dress

image

Sewing flops:
My first vest top because I never wear it
My first tweed jumper, I intend to make another (hopefully that won’t be a flop) and a blog post will follow

image

So for 2016, I am going to take a little break from sewing as the last few garments I have have been really stressful. I’m going to focus on my cross stitching during this time as I have two that I started several years ago sit unfinished. So once I’ve taken a step back and recharged my batteries, I intend to use up the fabrics I currently have. I usually don’t buy fabric unless I know what I’m going to make with it, so all the fabric I have is designated already. I’ve just got to get around to sewing it all now!

2 thoughts on “2015 Round Up”

    1. Aw thank you Lizzie. I think the break only lasted a couple of weeks, if that. It was enough to recharge my batteries 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

