Made For Me

Burda 6695

Next on my Mega Maker Challenge was the Burda 6695 in a blue jersey, bought on Goldhawk Road during my shopping trip to London last year.

img_20160305_215428.jpg

The jersey is amazingly soft and drapes beautifully, plus the colour is stunning. Can’t say I love the pattern as much as the fabric though. I found the back neck line of the collar was too small for the back neckline on the bodice! At first I thought I’d had a funny five minutes and traced it incorrectly but I checked it all and I hadn’t. I put this down to a design flaw (or maybe I just got a duff pattern, who knows!), I will remember to extend the neckline of the collar next time.

I traced the smallest size but still had to take the sleeves up by 8cm. I had to shorten the bodice but that was because I didn’t quite have enough fabric to make it the length I wanted. However, a shorter bodice means perfect for layering – silver linings!

20160308_232647.jpg

I could’ve taken it in at the sides too but I’m glad I didn’t, I think it would’ve worked against the drapes of the fabric.

2016-03-08-21.46.47.jpg.jpeg

As predicted, a quick and satisfying make. Well mostly, I did get frustrated by the neckline issue and my coverstitch kept jumping stitches, which didn’t help. I’m sure the next one will be more satisfying!

5 thoughts on “Burda 6695”

    1. Thank you Trisha! This is the second Burda pattern I’ve used, they’re pretty good. And yes it is perfect for layering, which I did for work today 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

