Social Events

Sewing For Pleasure and Hobbycrafts Show

I thought I’d share my experience at the NEC yesterday as it was the first time I’d been to the Sewing For Pleasure and Hobbycrafts show. One of the deciding factors to go on the Friday was me and my friend Lucy thought it might be a bit quieter. Well if that was quiet then I dread to think what it was like today! It was so busy, walking speed was uncomfortably slow and we often got separated by groups of people or nearly run over by scooters.

Still, we managed to walk all the way around the Sewing For Pleasure bit during the morning then the Hobbycrafts side after lunch. I’m not a baker so the baking and cake decorating area would’ve been totally lost on me and Lucy was happy to skip that part too.

image
Simplicity stall

There was a stall (I totally forgot to get the name of it) which had beautifully handmade birds on display and for a donation in their charity box, you could take pictures of the display.

image
Edit: these were created by Carole Checketts

Another breath-taking stall was Claudia Hahn Wildlife Artist. I was blown away by her tiger pieces. Absolutely stunning – check out her website for more amazing beauty by this talented woman!

image

Lucy spotted this stunning fascinator by Claire Muir. Her leaflet shows she does a range of work shops, I love the idea of a hen party where you make your own fascinator to wear to the wedding.

image

I bought two navy jerseys, one has white bits on it, and crepe de chine with black butterflies on white background from Lili Fabrics, a total of 5.5m of fabric for Β£26 – bargain!!Β  Shame she didn’t give me a card or leaflet because I would definitely buy from them again and I’m not sure if the website I found is the right one or not. Can anyone give me a link?

image

I bought some soft, grey polyester viscose jersey from Fabrics Galore and the burnout leopard print jersey offcut from a bargain box at Montreux Fabrics (their website is still under construction but I signed up to the emails so they will tell me when it’s up and running).

image

Finally, I bought some die cuts and stamps from The Stamp Hut and Card-io Craft; new pins from Barnyarns, a Fiskars scissor sharpener, Thread Heaven and a new thimble but I can’t remember where I bought those three from.

image
GorgeousΒ cards at the Card-io stall

I’d love to go again in the future, it was a good day out. Hopefully next time I’ll get to meet some of the fab sewing community too.

3 thoughts on “Sewing For Pleasure and Hobbycrafts Show”

Leave a Reply

