Made For Me

Love for the Bettine Pattern By Tilly and the Buttons

After a disastrous bank holiday weekend where my fiance had a motorbike accident in some woods whilst green laning, (thankfully he only damaged a ligament in his knee and he is healing very quickly already) and I had the biggest sewing mess up ever, I followed the advice of my Instagram friends and made a tried and true pattern – the Bettine.

image

Tilly and the Buttons’ Bettine pattern has swiftly become my favourite, especially for jersey fabrics but I made this dress out of a lovely light weight cotton called Sketchbook Airbrush Flight by Art Gallery Fabrics, which I bought from Fabric Yard.

image

I decided to have the cuffs lay downwards and not folded up onto the sleeve as per Tilly’s instructions. I also put small slits (5cm including seam allowance) in the side seams as I found with my first Bettine that the hem stitching kept ripping as I pulled the skirt down over my hips – an alteration I am yet to do to my first Bettine.

image

I put the pockets in the side seams again but I made the pockets smaller than on the first dress to reduce the bulk in the waistband. I put a couple of machine stitches in the corners of the pockets to keep them in place, one thing that really gets on my nerves is when I have to straighten out pockets on ready to wear clothes. I found that I can remove those tacks now as the very tops of the pockets got caught in the waistband stitching but as there’s no bulk, mission accomplished!

image

Whilst trying on the bodice, I thought the pattern would be great as a t-shirt. As you can see from the picture, the bodice finishes just below my waist so I added 13cm onto the bottom of the bodice when I cut out the jersey.

image

The construction was basically the same as when I made my jersey Bettine dress just without adding the skirt. I loved it so much, I wore it straight away and made a second t-shirt in the same weekend. I have no doubt there will be more Bettine dresses and t-shirts in my wardrobe in the future!

image

6 thoughts on “Love for the Bettine Pattern By Tilly and the Buttons”

Leave a Reply

