Social Events

A Sewcial Butterfly

I most definitely am not a social butterfly! However the past couple of weekends I have been out and about meeting people (and forgetting to take photos of the occasions!).

So it started with the opening of my friend, Marie’s shop called, SEWN. I went to the launch party straight from work (yes it’s within walking distance of work – bonus!) and ended up buying everything I need to make a pair of jeans! I chose the Jamie patterns pattern because I love the front seam and contrast pocket details, although I’ve never used a Named pattern before so I will have to be careful with the sizing and read the instructions!!

image

SEWN also shares a shop space with BettyRae who sells vintage clothes. I didn’t get a chance to look round that side of the shop as I was so caught up in making sure I got enough denim for the jeans! From what I did see though, there were some pretty gorgeous, unique garments so I am definitely going to have a browse on my next visit.

A couple of days later was the Sew Brizzle meet up, organised by Jen, Amy and Marie. It was really nice to talk to people with the same interests, swapping tips and tricks and the goody bag was fab! I donated a load of unwanted patterns to the fabric and pattern swap and I took home a gorgeous wine coloured Ponte Roma jersey and a navy and white ikat cotton.

image
Goody bag contents and my fabric picks

Thank you again for organising such a great meet up ladies! Looking forward to the next one.

My final social outing was the Making for Charity event at Marks and Spencer, part of the Spark Something Good programme. The objective was to make syringe bags for patients who have to carry a machine round with them to administer their medicine through a syringe.

image
33 bags in one session

I made 3 syringe bags in the time as they’re so quick to make up and I was very impressed that our group had managed to make 33 bags (we are yet to find out the final total of syringe bags made this weekend) in 1.5 – 2 hours.

Alex (from Sewrendipity and series 3 of the Sewing Bee) was running the session that I booked onto and I’ve got to say, it was really lovely to meet her, although I was a little star struck! She’s so friendly and you can absolutely feel her passion for this charity.

image

It was a great set up, in the middle of the shop so we were able to talk to the public about what we were volunteering for as well as talk to each other. When I left, I was buzzing from the experience and knowing that I had done something good to help someone that day. I’m definitely going to make more syringe bags to donate to my local hospital.

More details of this amazing charity can be found here, please do take a look!

EDIT on 21/06/2016: I received an email today from Alex which said “Over the three days, we have sewn an amazing 206 bags, with the help of 47 volunteers! This brings our overall total to 870 bags made since we started Spark Something Good in October last year.” – what an amazing result!

Wow I’m exhausted after all that – I’m not used to being so busy!

2 thoughts on “A Sewcial Butterfly”

Leave a Reply

