Other

Happy Bloggerversary Sort Of

My first bloggerversary was back in April but I was so ill, it flew by without me noticing. So I decided to do something for the anniversary of my first blog post, on 2nd August.

I started this blog as a diary to record my makes both good and bad, so I can look back and see how far I’ve come. Only one make hasn’t made it to the blog and that’s because I didn’t finish it – the #006 skater dress from Simple Sew Sewing Patterns. I don’t want to sully this post by talking about that failed make, but I will say it was a good learning curve for me.

image

image

So this past year I have taken part in Instagram photo-a-day challenges, tried new styles, evolved my wardrobe and set myself challenges, such as the Mega Maker Challenge.

image

I’ve also tried to improve my photography with Emma Davies’ online photography classes. I’m really pleased with my progress even though I don’t have a DSLR.

image

One thing I definitely want to improve upon over the next year is showing off my final makes. I am not a natural model, I prefer being behind the camera! And I can’t say my flat captures are that great either.

image

image

I don’t want to give too much away for what I have in-store for my blog, but it will continue to grow along with me, my sewing and crafting and I hope you will continue to enjoy reading it. And to say a massive thank you to my readers, I’m doing my first give away! The prize up for grabs is this Lizzy Dress pattern and bundle of fat quarters.

image

To enter the giveaway follow me and comment on the blog and the Instagram post about the giveaway. You can enter from anywhere in the world. Entry will end on 9th August at midnight (UK time) and I’ll announce the winner the next day. Good luck!

10 thoughts on “Happy Bloggerversary Sort Of”

  1. ~Congratulations, Melanie! 😀 Wish you all the very best for your blog, sounds like an amazing journey you’ve experienced so far. I love the colors you choose for your sewing pieces.
    The giveaway looks lovely ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations of your sort of blogaversary. Hope that within the coming year you continue to share your highs and lows in mastering your sewing and photography skill. Even though it might not have been your intention, we learn a lot and enjoy your posts.
    Wishing you a sewtastic year ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much! I’m glad your enjoy reading it and have learned from it too. Don’t worry, here’s definitely more to come on the blog! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

