Made For Me

The So Over It Erin Skirt

It was Lisa’s denim Erin skirt that caught my eye, I thought it was really versatile – totally my kind of garment – so I absolutely had to buy the ebook, My Capsule Wardrobe City Break. I love the details on this skirt – the pockets, the double topstitching on the pockets and the button stands, the simple, clean shape – so classic!

I cut a size 10 out of the chocolate coloured corduroy I bought from the Craft 4 Crafters Show. I wasn’t sure if I would need to interface the corduroy, having never used it before. I followed Lisa’s note that says if using a medium weight fabric, interfacing shouldn’t be needed. I also didn’t top stitch all the way around the waist band like Lisa did because my sewing machine struggled with the thickness when I sewed the top button hole, which only took 3 times to get a reasonable looking button hole!!

I sewed the side seams at 1cm purely out of habit but I’m glad I did because I think it wouldn’t have fitted me as well if I’d sewn them at 1.5cm. Turns out the corduroy has a bit of stretch to it which meant I didn’t have to adjust the darts at all either.

So for the button holes, I marked the placement with tailor tacks in bright pink thread so I could see it easily against the chocolate colour. I also used tailors chalk to mark the length of the button holes and I lined the edge of the button stand with the 3cm Mark on the masking tape on my sewing machine to keep it straight. This helped me to keep the button holes consistent down the length of the skirt.

I pressed the hem up at 2.5cm and stitched it at 2cm as I thought a smaller hem would make the skirt too long for me. I kept the buttons simple along with the top stitching (I was contemplating pink contrasting thread and buttons) to keep the skirt a wardrobe staple that will go well with the rest of my wardrobe.

I wore the skirt straight away, the next day and I’ve got to say, it was incredibly comfortable. I have no doubts this skirt will get lots of wear and I’m already planning more!

5 thoughts on “The So Over It Erin Skirt”

    1. Aw thank you! You’re so kind. 😊 the pink top is my Bettine tshirt (already on the blog) and the cardigan is RTW. I’m glad you like it 😙

      Like

Leave a Reply

