Social Events

Sewvember 2016

Unlike last year, I haven’t lost my sew-jo, I’m much more motivated than I was at the start of Sewvember 2015.

I have had to take it easy though, apparently you can get RSI (Repetitive Strain Injury) in your ankle from too much sewing (and driving)! It’s meant I’ve been incredibly slow at sewing my current project, which has a deadline of next Saturday – just hope I can finish it in time! All will be revealed after Christmas – that’s right, I said the C word ha ha!!

Aaaanyway, here’s the round up my photos from Sewvember 2016. The photo with the most likes is:

Day 7: Playing Favourites with 44 likes!!

favourites.jpg

“Playing favourites – these are by far my most favourite patterns and garments. I wear them constantly!”

Here are some of my favourite themes.

Day 8: Dear Past Self

 Me.jpg

“Don’t give up on your dreams. They may evolve as you learn and grow or to adjust for your Crohn’s but that’s ok, run with it. Just don’t ever give up.

This is one of the few pictures I have of me when I was 18. If memory serves, I took it about 9 months after my diagnosis. I grew and learnt so much in those 9 months and I had the confidence to experiment with make-up and posing in front of the camera 😂 Now I’m confident in other ways which far out way insecurities, it’s amazing what time and knowledge can give you.”

Day 13: Selfless Sewing

Lous bear.jpg

“I recently made this teddy bear and I can share it now it is with the recipient (she loved it 😄). Next weekend I’m going to make a baby’s dress for my friend’s daughter’s first Christmas. I’ve never made baby clothes before so this will be interesting.”

Day 29: Super Power

day-29

“Unpicking overlocking stitches. I’ve done it so many times over the years that I’ve nearly perfected how to do it quickly and easily!!”

This post was popular, with people asking me to show them how to do it – you can see the video on Facebook here or on YouTube here.

Adam Ross Fabrics started their photo a day challenge straight after Sewvember as a countdown to Christmas, so stay tuned for another roundup coming soon!

Leave a Reply

