Pattern Testing

Kommatia Patterns Cocoon Cardigan

I was lucky enough to pattern test the SW603 cocoon style cardigan for Kommatia Patterns. I loved the sound of the cardigan from the description and was sure it would fill a gap in my wardrobe. I absolutely loved the pattern when I received it from the designer, Jessica Crevier.

IMG_20170304_152452_095

I decided to use the grey ponte roma I bought from John Lewis in the January Sales, though I quickly realised I didn’t have enough – oops! I picked out a lovely pink jersey from my stash for the cuffs and neckband. I love pink and grey colour combo together.

The pattern was easy and quick to sew up but when I’d finished, I wasn’t too keen on the cuffs. I couldn’t help but keep staring at them, I thought this bit would be better attached to the garment as a band.

IMG_20170304_152543_201

When I wore it, I don’t know why but I kept trying to put my hands in pockets that weren’t there – ha ha! I thought pockets would be a perfect addition to this cardigan. I fed this back to Jesscia. She took on-board all my feedback and loved my idea to add pockets to the side seams.

Jessica asked me and a couple of others to do the pattern test again, to include the pockets. I bought some winter jersey from Fabric Land, which is ohh sooo very soft! As soon as I saw it in the shop, I knew it’d be perfect for this pattern. And I was right!

IMG_20170312_161304_083

I absolutely love this version and it has been worn so much more than my first one. I think if I change the cuffs to arm bands and add pockets, I will wear it a lot more. The pockets really make it for me and I’m so pleased that Jessica liked my idea and ran with it. I’m sure there will be more of these in my future!

IMG_20170331_193322_045

I’m sure you’ll love this pattern as much as I do! Thank you again to Kommatia Patterns for giving me the opportunity to test this fab pattern, I’ve enjoyed the whole experience and hope to be able to do more in the future.

Disclaimer: opinions are my own and the pattern was gifted to me in order to test it.
2 thoughts on “Kommatia Patterns Cocoon Cardigan”

  1. I am so glad you thought of pockets! The pockets just elevate the coziness factor of this cardy so much. Your both versions are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

