Social Events

The Fashion Front Fashion Show

There are so many reasons I love Bristol and feel so lucky to live in this creative, buzzing city. One of these reasons is the thriving indie fashion scene.

The Fashion Front brings together local designers to showcase their creations and support the community. It was organised by Fran Rennison, who also has her own fashion label called Tail End, and Off The Record, who are a charity supporting young people with mental health problems.

Fran opening the show
Fran opening the show

The show was held in a pub in Old Market, near the city centre. I’ve never been there before so I have no idea if it’s a popular place or not, but it was heaving! I was lucky to get a seat right next to the catwalk.

Model 3

A nice lady sat next to me and we started talking about the show. She told me about this article, written by Emma Gorton-Ellicott for a local magazine called Bristol 24/7, which includes an interview with Fran explaining more about her ethical brand and the purpose of the show. I absolutely recommend reading this article, it really demonstrates the passion that can be felt when roaming the city.

Model 1

Overall, the show can be described with just one word – FANTASTIC!! I had a fabulous time, truly enjoyed every minute. The music was excellent, the models busted a few awesome moves down the catwalk (no Dad dancing here!), and the whole atmosphere was incredible.

Model 2

There were so many brilliantly, talented designers showcasing their work. There was definitely a festival/clubbing vibe amongst the designs. I really liked a few boxy style belly tops.  If I were to wear one, it would need to be longer, gone are the days when I flashed my midriff around – haha! Having said that, I’m sure they’d look great layered up with vest tops, either in plain colours or even contrasting patterns. I also loved the jersey pencil skirts, so cute and the colour blocking worked so well.

Model 4

I found out that this is the second year that the show has run, only last year was with a different charity, kinda wish I’d heard about it last year, I’m sure I would’ve enjoyed it too. I’ve got to say, I truly hope The Fashion Front will continue supporting local charities and bringing the community together for years to come.

2 thoughts on “The Fashion Front Fashion Show”

Leave a Reply

